Hulp nodig?
Telefoonnummer: 030 888 5555
Tickets: Veelgestelde vragen

Unrecognizable FC Utrecht suffer large defeat

6 April 2014

FC Utrecht lost the away match against ADO Den Haag 4-1. At half time 2-0 was on the scoreboard. Roland Alberg and Mike van Duinen scored. In the second half Mitchell Schet and Michiel Kramer scored for ADO. Jens Toornstra saved FC Utrecht’s face and scored.

Jacob Mulenga started on the bench and captain Cedric van der Gun stood in the line-up. Christian Dorda substituted the suspended Tommy Oar.

ADO Coach Henk Fräser, who played 58 premier league matches for FC Utrecht in the  previous century, could appeal to defender Tom Beugelsdijk and striker Mike van Duinen. Both returned after being suspended. Former FC Utrecht player Vito Wormgoor started as central defender for ADO.

Turbulent start
ADO Den Haag played agressively from the start. Just after a few minutes Roland Albert almost headed in a cross, but Utrecht’s goalkeeper Robbin Ruiter pushed away the ball just in time. Shortly afterwards a small disturbance arose between players of both teams. Referee Bas Nijhuis  showed Steve de Ridder and Danny Holla a yellow card.

ADO Den Haag stronger
Most ball possession was for ADO Den Haag and had some chances. Michiel Kramer headed near the goal and just a few moments later Ruiter caught a ball from the air so Kramer could not become dangerous. After Mike Van Duinen gave a through ball to Alberg, Ruiter prevented Alberg from becoming dangerous because Ruiter came out well. Dave Bulthuis shot at the ADO goal from a Cristina Dorda’s cross and a long distance shot of Dorda went over.

Red card for Steve de Ridder
In the24th minute De Ridder made a foul, and was presented his second yellow card. FC Utrecht had to play on with ten players.

ADO Den Haag goals
After just over half an hour’s play timeAaron Meijers took the ball from Mark van der Maarle and crossed to Alberg. The midfielder did not think long and put Den Haag ahead with a harsh sizzler.

Just after about ten minutes Mike van Duinen scored 2-0 for ADO. Shortly before Ruiter had a good save on Kramer’s harsh header.

Second half
After half time Juan Agudelo substituted Dorda. Wouters tried to put more force in Utrecht’s attack, but this did not result in anything good. ADO kept dominating and had chances via Mitchell Schett, Van Duinen, Kramer and Holla. They shot over or near the goal or bounced on Ruiter. FC Utrecht was hardly able to attack. After just over an hour play time Cedric van der Gun had a deep cross but he was stopped by three defenders and the goalkeeper.

ADO enlarge the lead
In the 69th minute Van Duinen got rid of Utrecht’s defence, gave a cross and Mitchell Schett made the 3-0. Then FC Utrecht became dangerous for a short period. Delpierre headed Bulthuis corner over (FC Utrecht’s first corner) and Johan Mårtensson’s shot ended in the goalkeeper Gino Coutinho’s hands.Right after this ADO countered and Kramer put 4-0 on the scoreboard.

Goal of honour
After Ruiter disarmed several ADO attacks, Jacob Mulenga, who substituted Adam Sarota, was fouled in the ADO box by Coutinho. Nijhuis did not allow a penalty. However, just a few moments later Jens Toornstra curled in a free kick from the side of the penalty area into the far corner behind Coutinho at once. Herewith he saved the honour with his twelfth goal of this season.

The red card, turned over the match. FC Utrecht could not make any effort anymore and did not have a chance against ADO Den Haag.

ADO Den Haag - FC Utrecht (2-0) 4-1

1-0 31’ Roland Alberg
2-0 42’ Mike van Duinen
3-0 69’ Mitchell Schet
4-0 75’ Michiel Kramer
4-1 90’ Jens Toornstra 

Attendance: 8,500

Referee: Bas Nijhuis

Yellow cards:

4’ Steve De Ridder
4’ Danny Holla
32’ Cedric van der Gun

Red card:

24’ Steve De Ridder (yellow twice)

Line up ADO Den Haag: Gino Coutinho; Dion Malone, Vito Wormgoor (81’ Wilfried Kanon), Tom Beugelsdijk, Aaron Meijers; Danny Bakker, Danny Holla (c), Roland Alberg (83’ Mathias Getrh); Mitchell Schet, Michiel Kramer (84’ Jerson Cabral), Mike van Duinen.

Line up FC Utrecht: Robbin Ruiter; Mark van der Maarel, Matthieu Delpierre, Kai Heerings, Dave Bulthuis; Adam Sarota (69’ Jacob Mulenga), Johan Mårtensson, Jens Toornstra, Christian Dorda (46’ Juan Sebastián Agudelo); Cedric van der Gun (c) (80’ Mark Diemers), Steve De Ridder